IT was another busy weekend for amateur riders as they travelled to Cavan Equestrian to compete in the Cavan September National Amateur Championships.

Action kicked off on Saturday with the ‘A’ section of the 90cm Irish Equestrian Mental Health Project-sponsored Welcome Stakes. Taking victory was Ciara Hickey with Noggus Jess, clear in 24.82 seconds. Hickey also took the runner-up spot with Noggus Cliff, clear in 25.43. Winner of the AA section was Lorna Conroy and Clontarf Annabella when they kept all the poles in place in 24.03.

Winner of the Equillence/Cavalor-sponsored Table C AA section was the ever reliable Aileen McDermott [AA] with Amber Balou, when they galloped home with nothing to add in 49.60. Caroline Ryan chased all the way aboard Failte Iroko and clocked 51.19 for second, ahead of Niamh McFall and Bay Of Biscay, who was just fractions behind in 51.24.

John Fenton and Omear Star emerged victorious in the A section when they came home clear in 52.94. Less than a second behind were Aoife Maguire and Pharos Hazy Cove, clear in 53.78. Slotting into third place were Laura O’Connor and DS Little Missy, who delivered a clear in 54.21.

In the ‘A’ section of the Schockemohle Indoor Derby, 42 combinations went to post and taking the win was Laura Walshe with the home-bred Ballinaguilkey Heritage. The Wicklow rider took the win when fastest of six double clears in 27.88. Louise Walsh and Doonaveeragh Claire came closest to catching Walshe, but their time of 29.16 would only prove good enough for second. Karen Lynch and LCC Caseys Cruise took third when they came home in 29.41.

In the AA section, 32 combinations battled it out and in the end it was Darragh McMahon and Shalamar Cassino who took the win, clear in 29.06. Taking the runner-up spot was Jane Kealey and Danny Boy II, clear in 30.75, ahead of Roisin Donnelly and Seaforde Rebel, clear in 32.72.

Winner of the 90cm Welcome stakes ‘A’ section on Sunday was Vanessa Sweeney and Woodbank Clover, when they answered all the questions in 22.29. Following closely behind was Ken Lowry and Cliona Clover, who also kept the poles in place in 23.05. A clear from Joseph Moore and Master De Reve in 23.74 saw him take third place.

Following a great weekend at the Munster Championships, Aisling Tonery and Ti Amo Darcy took the win in the AA section, clear in 21.19. Lorna Conroy was also back in the ribbons, taking second with Clontarf Annabella, clear in 21.58. Stephanie Cunningham took third place with Falconet Illusion, when she took the longer lines and delivered a clear in 26.41.

The ‘A’ section of the Cladem Equi Store Two Phase Challenge saw 45 combinations battle it out and from those, 20 delivered double clears. Taking the win was Joseph Moore and Master De Reve when they stopped the clock in 27.47. Laura O’Connor returned to the line-up to take second place with DS Little Missy, when she came home in 27.87. Little stood between the next placing as Karen Pearson and Hanley News crossed the line in 27.93 for third.

In the AA section, a clear from Karen Broderick and Earl Greys Last Cruise in 24.44 saw them win the red ribbon. It was an extremely close class with Lorraine Younge and Little Miss Russel, clocking 24.49 for second place. Niamh McFall also had her eye on a ribbon as she took it on with Bay of Biscay, but despite a gallant attempt, a clear in 25.26 saw her take third place.

Grand Prix honours

The feature event on the Sunday, the Veredus Grand Prix, saw 64 combinations compete between the two sections. In the ‘A’ section, 10 booked their place in the jump-off and five double clears were delivered. Laura O’Connor added to her record when she took the win aboard her own DS Little Missy, clear in 34.92. Walshe almost added another victory to her record sheet when she delivered a clear with Ballinaguilkey Heritage in 34.96 for second. Jimmy Quirke and Dream Bird wasted no time and a clear in 35.52 saw them finish in third, ahead of Karen Boylan and Pinegrove ARO, in 38.23. Jessie O’Flynn Hall and MMS Loreal were last of the double clears in 39.63 for fifth.

In the AA section, 14 booked their place against the clock and from those, five double clears were delivered. Lorraine Younge ended her weekend on a high note when she took the win on her own Belfieldflight when clocking 29.93. Lisa Doyle and Corlands Clipper took second when they stopped the clock in 32.62, ahead of Martin Flesk and Killuppaun Magic, in 34.41. Aideen Kirby was less than a second behind with Derg Masterpiece for fourth place, ahead of Jane Kealey and Danny Boy II, who were last of the double clears in 35.47.