The Dante was named after the Yorkshire-trained winner of the Derby substitute at Newmarket in 1945. Established in 1958, it serves as a major trial for the Derby with 10 winners, including Erhaab, Benny The Dip, North Light and Authorized going on to success in Epsom and the winner is generally a major player in the colts’ classic.