INTERNATIONAL action began at Mullingar CSI 2* last Saturday with the Glenn Wood-sponsored CSI2* 1.20m. In total, 81 combinations went to post and taking the win was Galway rider Sven Hadley. Riding Uidam, Hadley came home with nothing to add in a time of 60.32.

Not content with the win, Hadley also went on to share second place with Wexford young rider Taylor Peare. Both Hadley, who was riding Topsin, and Peare riding Lissyegan Geoff, came home clear in 61.25. A clear in a time of 62.58 aboard the One and Only Spartacus ensured Holly Anne Sweetnam fourth place.

The good results continued for Hadley Sport Horses as Sven’s partner, Tori Dunne, took fifth place with Jessy Van De Heid, clear in 62.75. Completing the top six line-up were Paul Beecher and Danqu when they crossed the line with nothing to add in 64.05.

Moran takes the win

In the Aisling Byrne Universal Horses-sponsored 1.30m, Limerick’s Robyn Moran claimed the victory. Riding the very reliable Coolminga Inspector Royal, she lodged the winning clear in 63.90.

Almost two seconds slower was Lt. James Whyte with Avonbeg, crossing the line clear in 65.84. Cian Harrison also kept the poles in their place with Tabby, albeit in a slower time of 67.62 for third place. Hadley was back in the line-up, this time taking fourth place with HSH Harper Du Seigneur, clear in 67.71. English rider Nicole Kershaw slotted into fifth place with Clovalent, clear in 67.96, ahead of Molly Hughes Bravo and HHS Fortune, who crossed the line in 68.49.

Derwin does it

The third international class of the day saw 75 combinations contest the Francis Derwin Sport Horses 1.40m Grand Prix qualifier class. Leading the victory lap was Francis Derwin when he was fastest of the 25 clears aboard Deep Pockets in a time of 60.17.

English rider Alicia Page was less than a second behind with Diacento in 60.78 for second place. Little divided the next placings as Mikey Pender and HHS Burnchurch came home in 61.02, ahead of Aidan Killeen and Helianthus H, in 61.95.

Page took another share of the prize fund when fifth place with Ulievka de Brev, clear in 63.86, while Jonathan Smyth and Mulvin Lights Out slotted into sixth when they clocked 63.87.

Win for Hadley

Sunday morning began well for Sven Hadley as he took the red rosette in the fourth international class, the Castleforbes Stud 1.25m Accumulator. Riding Uidam, he recorded the maximum score in 47.75secs.

From the startlist of 73 combinations, 19 recorded the maximum score of 65. Young rider Chloe Hughes Kennedy and Zuidam took the runner-up spot when they came home in 47.90. Tori Dunne was back in the ribbons taking third place with Sumas Taloubet, stopping the clock in 50.41, ahead of Niamh Fitzpatrick and Hard Times (A.E.S) in 50.82. Slotting into fifth place wwereas Joanne Blair and Mon Ami in 51.72 ahead of English rider Alice Godfrey and Celebrity Girl in 53.26.

Roulston takes victory

Leading the victory lap in the Glenpatrick Horseboxes-sponsored 1.30m was Tyrone rider Olivia Roulston and Roundthorn Hercules, when they galloped home in 24.57. Owned by Samantha Dale and bred by Patrica Connon, the 10-year-old gelding is by Colestus out of the Manhattan-sired Tessa Roundthorn.

From a strong starting field of 76 combinations, 35 maintained clean sheets over the two rounds. It was a very fast class, with the top seven finishers coming home within the 26-second marker.

Cian Harrison was fractions of a second behind with Tabby in 24.75 for second place, ahead of Edward Doyle and Flexability, who stopped the clock in 25.29.

Slotting into fourth place was John Floody and Donevan Erkindale in 25.44, while in fifth was Aimee Barry and Garryndruig Limoncello (25.47). Completing the top six line-up was English visitor Alicia Page and Ulievka de Breve (25.80).

McEvoy triumphs

One young woman making her mark on the senior circuit this year is Niamh McEvoy and she added to her growing record with the win in the 1.45m ranking class on Sunday evening. One of 11 double clears from a starting field of 64, the young Tyrone rider set the winning time of 32.84 with Templepatrick Welcome Limmerick.

Also making his presence felt in the senior ranks is young rider Francis Derwin. Derwin took the runner-up spot with AHG Whiterock Cruise Down when they came home in 33.03. There was nothing between the next placings as Eddie Moloney and Temple Alice crossed the line in 33.42 for third place, ahead of Mikey Pender and Nando Quality in 33.88.

It was a good day for HHS Stud as Pender took fifth place with HHS Los Angeles in 34.76, just ahead of Molly Hughes Bravo and HHS Vancouver in 35.75.

Curran sets record

Commdt. Geoff Curran set a record when he took the win in the RDS Puissance qualifier on Sunday evening. Riding Bishops Quarter, he cleared 2m10. Sven Hadley (Brandon First Edition) and Ger Clarke (Lupins Lux Z) cleared two metres to share second place.

Mullingar Cup

Claiming the Mullingar Team Cup was Robert Fagan’s team of Mikey Pender (Nando Quality), Robbie Healy (Crissaun Alleluia), Ted Fagan (Dooneens Electric) and Robbie Sheehan (He’s A Touch of Magic).