THE main arena of the RDS in Ballsbridge had witnessed 22 Irish Aga Khan trophy wins prior to last Friday’s victory for the home side, but few were as emphatic as this latest triumph, where Robert Splaine’s young team simply blew-away the opposition.

As they raised one of the most coveted trophies in the sport aloft, Bertram Allen, Greg Broderick, Cian O’Connor, Darragh Kenny and chef d’equipe Robert Splaine, brought a broad smile to the face of Irish President, Michael D Higgins, as the packed stands went wild with delight.