INTERESTING kicking some stats around on the British flat jockeys’ championship, comparing the stats this year so far with the stats for the 2014 season in its entirety.

Richard Hughes won the championship last year with 161 wins from 914 rides, which represented a strike rate of an impressive 18%. Ryan Moore finished second with 155 wins from 756 rides, a strike rate of an even more impressive 21%. Six fewer wins from 158 fewer rides and a near 17% higher strike rate.