BORRIS Vocational School hosted the latest leg of the TRI Equestrian Interschools League in brilliant spring sunshine at Kildare’s Coilog Equestrian where proprietor Chris Byrne had built enticing tracks for the various classes scheduled.

The action kicked off in the Hornbeam where the open teams battled it out and following an exciting jump-off, East Glendalough School emerged as the winners with Dominican College, Wicklow in the runner-up slot.

East Glendalough was represented by Firebolt and Robert Cherry, Kingcarra Mia and Anna Hudson Carlstrom, Shergar Rose, ridden by Anna Morrissey, Rusheenduff Patrick and Conor Doyle. The team from Dominican College was Slanelough Supremacy, ridden by Naoise O Neill, Westbrock Dancer and Casey Neville, Drumlane Oscar and Baylee Neville and Mona Mia, ridden by Megan Neville. Colaiste Bhride riders Hannah O’Neill, Sarah Sheppard, Cian Byrne and Sophie Wilson riding Drummin Pretty Lady, Galtee Shadow, Carra Cave Bay and Scarlet Cruise took third. The remaining places went to Borris Vocational School, Wesley College, and Gorey Community School.

The TRI Equestrian Open League class followed. Cian Byrne, riding Hunters Lodge Puissance, claimed the win for Colaiste Bhride ahead of Grace Berry riding Kelle for Wesley College. Byrne, who was having a very busy day, also took third, fourth and fifth place on board Kinamara Dunboy, HL Todd and Carra Cave Boy respectively. Rusheenduff Patrick, ridden by Conor Doyle for East Glendalough School was sixth.

The final class in the Hornbeam was a well-supported Horse Sport Ireland premier 1.10cm class. While Byrne was once again in the ribbons, the red rosette went to Jamie Hargadon riding Bruno for Newbridge College. Galtee Shadow, ridden by Sarah Sheppard representing Coláiste Bhríde Carnew, took the runner-up slot ahead of Byrne on HL Todd.

Kerry, ridden by Patrick Doyle from Borris Vocational School, was fourth with Byrne this time riding Hunters Lodge Puissance and Jessica Milmo Penny on Roxy for Wesley College Dublin were fifth and sixth.

Triumphant Newbridge

Meanwhile, in the Lime Arena, local school Newbridge College saw off all of their rivals to claim first and second place. Newbridge College was well represented by Connaughy Noel (Sarah Fleming), Blackjack (Bonnie O’Neill), Saltre Imperial Commander (Mai Monaghan), and Blackwoodland Breeze (Anna Nagle) in pole position and Mullacraw Heights (Keelin Scott), Kilmovee Bridal Express (Louise Maguire) and Spice (Jessica O’Ryan) in second.

Third place went to Presentation Thurles. The team was Garrymarea Ricky’s Girl (Izzy O’Hora), Aerodynamics (Emma O’Meara), Creggan Bell (Evelyn Fahey) and Sunny Sky (Molly Healy). Borris Vocational School and Tullow Community School took the remaining places.

The Equieire EII 90 qualifier was hotly contested. First place went to Ruth Hildebrand riding Park Pebble Dash for Malahide Community School, quickly followed by Tullow Community School’s Niamh Tobin on Millbrae Wendy in second and Jessica Kinsella (Rocket Celt) from Loreto Abbey Dalkey in third. Fourth to sixth places were claimed by pupils from local schools including Four Mile Boy and Sarah Boyce Donohue from Ardscoil Rathangan, Epic Wildfire and Lucy Maughan representing St Wolsan’s Community School and Carraig Dun, ridden by Alexander Butler, for St Mary’s College Naas.

The team of St Anne’s NS school Ardclough, Co. Kildare came first at the TRI Equestrian Interschools League hosted by Borris Vocational School in Coilog last Sunday. It was the first time St Anne’s NS Ardclough entered a team and they came first in the primary school 75cm class (l-r) Alice Curley, Charlotte Butler, Lila van Lonkhuyzen and Kate Moore

Primary win for St Anne’s team

The novice individual class was won in fine style by Johnnie Sheppard on Tallyho Mayday from Coláiste Bhríde Carnew. Lucy Darby on Darkly Julie representing Tynock National School was second with Epic Wildfire, ridden by Lucy Maughan, for St Wolsan’s Community School in third.

Pablo, ridden by Una Farrell, won the primary league 70cm class with Oisin Phelan on Belle in second and Lily Walsh on Ivy in third.

The fun 50cm class went to Chloe Flynn riding the Princess. Sadie Henley on Freddy was second and Maya White on Pippy was third.

In the Primary teams class, the team from St Anne’s National School Ardclough emerged as victors. LA Dream Machine and Alice Curley, Mysterix ridden by Kate Moore, Billy Two Shoes and Charlotte Butler and Mountain Dew Boys, partnered by Lila Van Lonkhuyzen, represented St Anne’s.

Second place went to the team from St Bridget’s National School Grange Red of Anna, ridden by Lulu Rose Mulhall, Lucy and James Mulhall, Smokey, ridden by Rocco Mulhall, and Bubbles, ridden by Emily Flavin Redmond. Scoil Diarmada Castledermot, represented by Oisin Phelan on Belle, Eimear White on Melody, Dolly ridden by Anna Curry and Pippy with Maya White were third.

The action continues on April 3rd at Mullingar Equestrian Centre. This is the penultimate leg and the last chance to gain qualifier slots and league points before the league final on April 10th.