IT was the hands of experience that won through on Saturday afternoon when Edward Doyle landed victory in the Cavan County Council-sponsored 1.40m speed class.

Riding Lisa Cawley’s Flexability, the Kildare rider stopped the clock at 61.22, best of the 52 starters and over two seconds faster than his closest rival to secure the lion’s share of the €4,000 prize fund.

Flexability is a 10-year-old gelding by Flexible out Diamond Ballerina (Diamond Lad), bred by Dr Noel Cawley. The pair have been in good form of late, picking up placings in the 1.40m HSI Autumn Grand Prix league.

Jonathan Smyth slotted into second place riding the Noletta Smyth and Roy Craig-owned Mulvin Lights Out (Kroongraaf x Diamond Serpent), in a time of 63.84.

Eddie Moloney and his own Temple Alice (Foxglen Cruise Control x Rantis Diamond) took third place in 64.26, while Daniel McAlinden and his eight-year-old AHG Whiterock Doctor Cruise (Indoctro x Cruising) were fourth in 64.74.

Angela Waras aboard Gillian Kerr’s Marblearch (Lougherne Cappuccino x Dancing Boy) finished in fifth, while sixth went to international event rider Cathal Daniels and his own Cappog Tomy (Camiro De Haar Z - Creevagh Ferro Ex Siebe).

Gain jump-off challenge

Also on Saturday, it was once again an experienced pair of hands which guided their mount to the top-spot when former National Hunt jockey Paul Carberry and Brandonview First Edition won the Gain Equine Nutrition 1.35m Jump-off Challenge.

Some 70 combinations lined-out for the class which carried a prize pot of €2,000. A total of 27 made it through to the second round, and of these 16 kept a clean sheet and recorded a double-clear round.

Carberry was fastest of these in a scorching time of 23.56 for the win. Second was Aidan Kileen and Tynagh House Stud’s Dutch-bred Helianthus H in 24.52.

Katie McEntee and Stephex Stables Hip Girl finished third in 24.55, while fourth was Sven Hadley and Topspin in 25.28.

Oisin Aylward, riding Joanne Sloan’s eight-year-old WKD Little Star (Quick Star x Padinus), took fifth, ahead of Matthew Morrison and Rivendell Chancellor who were sixth.