JUNIOR and Young Riders travelled to Cavan Equestrian Centre in a bid to claim one of the titles on offer in the SJI National Junior and Young Riders Championships.

Sophie Ahearne riding Birchill Adelle was crowned the Children on Horses Championship winner. Emily Moloney and Capitol Cruis claimed the Junior Crown while Yousef Sallam took the Young Rider title. Aherne and Birchill Adelle had claimed two victories over the course of the three days while Moloney had finished runner-up in two classes and took the win in the final Grand Prix last Sunday. Sallam claimed victory in the opening class on Friday with Besser Von Tulisa and finished in 12th in Saturday’s class. A fourth place finish for the combination in the final 1.35m Grand Prix was enough for them to take the 2022 title.

Also awarded on Sunday was the 1.10m, 1,20m and 1.30m Championships. Taking the 1.10m title was Fionnghuala Benson (Chatsworth Danielle) while Jodie Creighton (Glenaguile View) took the 1.20m title. The 1.30m title returned joint winners in Marta Hughes Bravo (HHS Figero) and Sarah Fitzgerald (HHS Lou).

National League titles

The National League titles were decided last Saturday and were split into those who had qualified and non-qualifed. Claiming victory in the 1m final (qualified) was Sophie Aherne and Birchill Aherne when they came home with nothing to add in 34.32 in the two phase class. Young rider Tara Fogarty and HHS Happy Trend took the runner-up spot, clear in 34.42, ahead of junior rider Amy McLaughlin and Rhona, clear in 35.58.

Winner of the 1.10m qualified division was Fionnghuala Benson (JU) when she partnered Chatsworth Danielle to a double clear in 30.95 to take home the €1,000 on offer. Niamh Fitzpatrick was almost two seconds slower with Hard Times in 32.48 for second, while filling third place was Shauna Curtis and Knockbrack Diamond Lady, clear in 33.83.

Leading the victory lap in the 1.20m division was Emily Moloney and Capitol Cruis when she put in a foot-perfect round in 34.04. Marta Hughes Bravo left nothing to spare as she partnered Miss Belgium to a clear in 34.92, ahead of Shauna Curtis and KnockBrack Diamond Lady, who also kept the poles in 35.36.

In the 1.35m division, a clear from Sarah Fitzgerald and HHS Lou in 37.19 saw her take the win. Emily Moloney was back in the ribbons, claiming the runner-up spot with GVS Goodwins Queen when she delivered a clear in 39.79. Last of the double clears in 39.81, and taking third place, was Eve Donnelly with Beechmore Lady Lux.

Winner of the 1.10m non-qualified division was junior rider Rachel McGrath and European Cruise when they were fastest of 11 double clears in 33.50. Fellow junior rider, Lily Maguire took the runner-up spot when she partnered Clenagh Castle Clover to a clear in 35.95, ahead of Jazmine Arthur (JU) and the six-year-old Ballyknock OBOS Hollywood, clear in 38.93.

Claiming victory in the non-qualified 1.20m class was Emma O’Connor and the eight-year-old Quality Diamond when they put in a blistering clear in 35.94. Sarah Fitzgerald was back in the ribbons, taking the runner-up place with the six-year-old Admiran Athena, clear in 37.23, while accounting for third place was Ellen Thompson and Flyhigh Mable, clear in 37.62.

In the 1.35m section, just eight contested this division and taking this victory was Aisling McGuinness with Kilderrys Joint Venture, when she came home with nothing to add in two phase class in at time of 44.90. Ellen Thompson opted for the longer lines with Alejandro Two and it paid off as she crossed the line clear in 50.02 for second place. Slotting into third was young rider Mackenzie Healy and Domar Van De Neerheide, who was fastest of the four-faulters in 85.65.

Grand Prix winners

The Grands Prix began last Sunday with the Children on Horses division and claiming this victory was Faye Delaney with the seven-year-old Rossdarragh Flash, delivering the only clear of the class in the first round in 81.36. Conrad Sweeney was fastest of the four-faulters with Ardragh Cordubh in 78.15, ahead of Jamie Clarke and Coumore Special.

In the Junior 1.20m Grand Prix, 34 combinations went to post and from those, five delivered double clears in the nine-way jump-off. Leading the victory lap was Emily Moloney and Capitol Cruis, when they answered all the questions in 35.76. Less than a second behind was Jodie Creighton and Glenguile View, clear in 36.37, while taking third place was Fionnghuala Benson and Chatsworth Danielle. Fourth place belonged to Tatianna Ormiston when she came home with nothing to add in 37.83 with Killorane Lucky Charm, while last of the double clears in 39.94 was Shannon Treanor and the six-year-old Trebra Lorenzo. Dylan Ward put in a very fast time with Black Out, but four faults in 35.99 allowed him to take sixth place.

The final 1.35m Grand Prix of the day proved very exciting with 21 combinations going to post and eight booked their place against the clock. Leading the victory lap, clear in 39.86 was Emma McEntee and RHS Blue. Resident rider Camryn Clarke set the bar high with Conto De Reve, but a clear in 41.24 proved only good enough for second place. Sarah Fitzgerald added to her haul when she took third place with HHS Lout, clear in 42.38, ahead of Yousef Sallam and Besser Von Tulisa, who also kept the poles in their cups in 44.84. A clear from Emily Moloney and Temple Alice in 45.77 saw her take fifth, while Ellen Thompson and Alejandro Two completed the top six, clear in 55.20.

Championships victors

First in the arena on Sunday were the riders competing in the 90cm Championship. Taking the title was junior rider Maeve Coffey and the eight-year-old Patch of Doora, clear in 31.18. Slotting into second was Ava Stubbs and Tullyhill Lucy Diamond, clear in 31.76, ahead of Caoimhe Coleman and Ardjuniper, clear in 34.58.

Winner of the one-metre Championship was Ciara O’Sullivan and Loughnatousa Isadora in 34.99. Second place belonged to Ben Maybin and Quality Night, clear in 35.32, ahead of Ellen Dunne and Little Miss Garr, who put in a foot-perfect round in 35.73.

Winner of the final 1.30m Championship was junior rider Fionnghuala Benson and Chatsworth Danielle, clear in 37.42.

Benson was chased home by Sunnibhe Stassin and RNH Factor One, who crossed the line in 40.02 for second place. Slotting into third place was Annemarie Hynes and Busy Lizzie, clear in 40.53.