ACTION in the Equijump Ltd Spring Tour went north last Saturday with Cavan Equestrian playing host to the third round of the popular series for pony riders. As expected, the weekend of show jumping at Cavan saw big entries over the course of the two days.

In the 128cm U10s, it was a home win for Chloe Clarke and Pepsi Mac claiming victory when going clear in 25.62 seconds. DJ Kent and Paris opted for the longer route and came home clear in 27.70 to take second place ahead of Tim Hawkins and O’B Poppett, clear in 29.18.

Slotting into fourth place was Josh Fitzgerald and Miss Lexi, clear in 31.26, while in fifth was Harvey Oscar Foley and Back in a Flash, clear in 31.49. Completing the top six was Blathnaid Murphy and Popcorn, clear in 34.60.

In the 128cm section, Charlie Flynn put more points on the board as he partnered Penchwintan Glynle to a clear in 30.34. Ava O’Neill and He’s A Touch Of Magic were just over a second behind in 31.75 for second. Aimee Moloney and Magnificant Magnet took third when clear in 32.17, ahead of Lucia Keane and Ravara Mohawk, just fractions behind in 32.36. Alayna Hawkins and Carraghy Apollo came home with nothing to add in 32.65, while she also took sixth place with Ballynacregga Red, clear in 34.03.

Charlie Flynn (M) and Grand Creme Peccau (7yo), winner of the 138cm 1.10m at Cavan Equestrian \ Laurence Dunne

Flynn takes win

In the 138cm division, 34 combinations went to post, with 16 delivering clears. It was a good day at the office for Charlie Flynn as he claimed victory in this division aboard Harefield Diego. The Munster rider left nothing to spare as he galloped home with a clean sheet in a time of 29.65. Claiming the runner-up spot was Conrad Sweeney and Warwick Ginger when they opted for a more careful approach and crossed the line clear in 33.01.

Slotting into third place was Alanna Keeling and Tynagh when they were just behind in a time of 33.08. RDS champion Ruben Foley took fourth place with Sparkling Boomastasia when they came home clear in 34.25. Caitlin Kelly and Future Memories accounted for fifth place, clear in 36.20, ahead of Lily Ryall and The Jemmy Man, clear in 43.02.

Winner of the 138cm-1m warm-up class was Ronan Gilvarry and The Hilly Billy, clear in 28.12. Little stood between the next placing as Charlie Flynn galloped home aboard Harefield Diego in 28.16. Slotting into third was Alex Sheehan and Cuffesgrange In It To Win It, clear in 28.67.

Chloe Hughes Kennedy (L) and HK Zena, winners of the 148-1.20m Equijump Ltd Spring Tour at Cavan Equestrian \ Laurence Dunne

Victory for Hughes Kennedy

Leading the victory lap in the 148cm-1.20m was Kilkenny rider Chloe Hughes Kennedy and HK Zena when they delivered a foot-perfect performance in 31.51. This class had the one of the biggest entries with 78 combinations going to post and of those, eight double clears were delivered.

Kildare’s Jack Galway and Diamond (BE) took the runner-up spot, clear in 32.08. Gary Dooley and Coppenagh Gatsby slotted into third place when fractions behind in 32.40. In fourth was Senan Reape and the stallion Machnus D’Hyrencourt Z, clear in 32.67. Fifth place was filled by Ciara O’Connor and Hannah’s Only Dun, clear in 34.57, ahead of Abbie Oakey and Boutade STE Hermelle, clear in 35.35.

Winner of the Niagara Equissage Digital Pulse-sponsored 148cm-1.10m was Amber Thompson and Johnnie’s Pride, clear in 23.13. Niamh Devlin and OBS Good To Go took the runner-up place, clear in 23.43, while in third was Niamh Staunton and Ballyfore Rosie, clear in 24.23.

In the 148cm 1.30 class, 20 combinations battled it out, with six double clears delivered. Taking the win was Lauren Adams and Corradino Du Bary, clear in 30.27. Chloe Hughes Kennedy was back in the line-up, taking second with Wrenwood Bambilino, clear in 30.69.

Lauren Adams took another share of the prize fund when she partnered Lexius “E” Van Het Juxschot to a clear in 33.20. Senan Reape took fourth when he answered all the questions in 33.25, ahead of Katie Nallon and Balthazar De Bordes, clear in 34.98. Kian Dore and Sparkling Lackaghmore Joey slotted into sixth when they stopped the clock in 36.42.

Taking the win in the Children on Horses division was Lily Tunney who was riding Lisa Morrison`s Lavish, clear in 24.83. Ted Fagan added to his tally when he took the runner-up spot with Bella M, clear in 25.60. Third place belonged to Abigail Byrne and Chiricco Z, clear in 36.22, while in fourth was Grace Maher Ryan and Lates Sparkey, clear in 42.01. Fastest of the four-faulters in 25.45 was Cian McMunn and Captain Marko.