THE Mid Antrim Peonies prevented the host Branch, the Iveaghs, from ‘going through the card’ on a team level at last Saturday’s Area 17 show jumping at The Meadows.

The Peonies’ success came in the Intermediate (PC100) competition through Christopher Smyth, Hannah Thomspon, Jesscia Mark and Kirstin Thom. The Iveaghs were second here and also picked up plenty of placings as well as their wins at Open and Novice level, in the PC80 regional qualifier and at Junior and Mini levels.

The Iveaghs ‘only’ won four of the seven individual competitions which were contested by those who had jumped double clear in the team rounds.

At Open level, the winner was the Branch’s Badgers representative Taylor McKnight and her mother Christene’s Tassagh Sky Doctor, the 15-year-old C Indoctro II mare she successfully competes under Show Jumping Ireland rules. In the third round, McKnight was clear in 45.52 seconds with Tullylagan’s Kym Moore stopping the clock on 60.16 to place second with Seapatrick Diamont.

Two Iveagh members have qualified for The Pony Club championships at Open PC 90 level, Alex Best who was clear in 31.99 on Keadys Girl, and Rory Kinnear who picked up eight faults in 34.70 on Litchfield Foxtrot.

Final standings

Two Iveagh members topped the final standings at PC80 level, Lexi Robinson and Rock having to settle for second when clear in 42.55 behind Pippa Moore and Seapatrick Make A Move (38.23). Pippa is the latest member of the Moore family to compete on her mother Lorna’s 16-year-old Grade A 138cms mare. It was a similar situation among the PC70 ranks where Sarah Pike riding Daisy (35.22) and Sarah Eakin on board Moana (44.58) finished first and second for the day’s hosts.

In the PC100 individual, only two riders were clear in the third round in under 40 seconds, viz the North Down’s Lauren McGlennon who won with the 10-year-old Oberon Van Fyandra D’O9 mare Keeford High Rise (36.49) and the East Downs’ Ryan Williamson riding Fen Rose Raven (39.98). The Seskinores recorded an individual double thanks to Kate Millar and Just Ruby (PC90) and Zara Blackburn with Rockvale Murphy’s Law (PC60).