ALMOST half of the field for next Saturday's Randox Grand National at Aintree are likely to be Irish-trained.

A total of 68 horses were left in the race at Monday's six-day confirmation stage and 27 of them are trained in Ireland. However, of the top 40 guaranteed a place in the line-up at this stage, 19 are Irish.

The Irish-trained Tiger Roll won the race in 2018 and 2019 but was denied a chance to make it three-in-a-row when the 2020 edition was cancelled due to Covid-19.

Following several withdrawals at the five-day stage, Evan Williams’ Welsh National hero Secret Reprieve is 43rd on the list, on the same weight as Some Neck who is 42nd. The maximum field size is 40, with four reserves eligible if there any defectors from the declared runners before 1pm on Friday.

There were never any concerns of not making the cut for the ante-post favourite, Jonjo O’Neill’s Cloth Cap, impressive winner of the Ladbrokes Trophy and Kelso’s Premier Chase.

He will be ridden by Tom Scudamore, who told Nick Luck’s Daily Podcast: “It looks like he’s the ideal horse and it’s the old cliche that I wouldn’t swap him for anything. If I was riding something else Cloth Cap would be the one I’d want to ride.

“He stayed four miles plus in the Scottish National, he’s put up some great performances this year and he’s a stone well-in. That all points to him having a great chance, but he’s got to go and actually do it – we’ve seen it time and time again before, you can talk as much as you like, but you’ve got to go and do it.

“It’s nice to talk about it, it’s a lovely position to be in, but we’ve got to go and do it.”

While the race has seen many modifications to the famous fences in recent years, Scudamore feels if anything it takes even more winning than in the past.

“The National has always been fantastic to ride in and since the modifications it is still a test, you mustn’t underestimate the fences,” he said.

“The relentlessness of the race has changed, it used to be a mad dash to Becher’s Brook but once you made your way to the Canal Turn and headed towards The Chair (you could get a breather) – it does seem more relentless now.

“That can put more of an emphasis on stamina, it’s a long time since they said it but they used to say you needed a good two-and-a-half-miler for the National. I don’t think that’s the case now.

“I’ve had some fantastic rides in it, my best is sixth on Vieux Lion Rouge. I tend to be in contention across Melling Road but not quite get home, the likes of Soll, Vieux Lion Rouge, The Package, Blowing Wind were great rides but didn’t manage to make it all the way.”

There is a strong Irish contingent with the likes of Ted Walsh’s Any Second Now, Henry de Bromhead’s Minella Times, the expected mount of Rachael Blackmore and Willie Mullins’ Burrows Saint.

Bristol De Mai is set to carry top weight for Nigel Twiston-Davies, who is chasing a third win int he race with Yala Enki set to be the ride of Bryony Frost.

Kimberlite Candy, Takingrisks, Potters Corner, Lord Du Mesnil and Discorama were all left in.

Among those taken out were Beware The Bear, Pym, The Jam Man, Class Conti and those that had already been scratched, like Santini and Achille.



Bristol de Mai (FR) 10 11 10 Nigel Twiston-Davies Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede

The Storyteller (IRE) 10 11 8 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Mrs Pat Sloan Keith Donoghue

Chris's Dream (IRE) 9 11 7 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Robcour

Yala Enki (FR) 11 11 3 Paul Nicholls Hills of Ledbury Ltd

Ballyoptic (IRE) 11 11 1 Nigel Twiston-Davies Mills & Mason Partnership

Definitly Red (IRE) 12 11 1 Brian Ellison Phil & Julie Martin

Lake View Lad (IRE) 11 11 0 N. W. Alexander Mr Trevor Hemmings

Burrows Saint (FR) 8 10 13 W. P. Mullins Ireland Mrs S. Ricci

Magic of Light (IRE) 10 10 13 Mrs J. Harrington Ireland Ann & Alan Potts Limited

Acapella Bourgeois (FR) 11 10 12 W. P. Mullins Ireland Slaneyville Syndicate

Talkischeap (IRE) 9 10 12 Alan King Mr Charles Dingwall

Tout Est Permis (FR) 8 10 12 Noel Meade Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Anibale Fly (FR) 11 10 12 A. J. Martin Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Mister Malarky 8 10 12 Colin Tizzard Wendy & Malcolm Hezel

Kimberlite Candy (IRE) 9 10 10 Tom Lacey Mr John P. McManus

Any Second Now (IRE) 9 10 9 T. M. Walsh Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Balko des Flos (FR) 10 10 9 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Alpha des Obeaux (FR) 11 10 9 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud Jody McGarvey

Ok Corral (IRE) 11 10 8 Nicky Henderson Mr John P. McManus

Takingrisks (IRE) 12 10 7 Nicky Richards Mr Frank Bird

Shattered Love (IRE) 10 10 7 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Jett (IRE) 10 10 7 Mrs J. Harrington Ireland Mr Robert Waley-Cohen

Lord du Mesnil (FR) 8 10 6 Richard Hobson Mr Paul Porter & Mike & Mandy Smith

Potters Corner (IRE) 11 10 6 Christian Williams All Stars Sports, Davies & RacehorseClub

Class Conti (FR) 9 10 6 W. P. Mullins Ireland Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac Souede

Milan Native (IRE) 8 10 6 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Discorama (FR) 8 10 6 Paul Nolan Ireland Thomas Friel/Andrew Gemmell

Vieux Lion Rouge (FR) 12 10 5 David Pipe Prof Caroline Tisdall & Mr John Gent

Cloth Cap (IRE) 9 10 5 Jonjo O'Neill Mr Trevor Hemmings

Cabaret Queen 9 10 5 W. P. Mullins Ireland Syndicates.Racing

Minellacelebration (IRE) 11 10 5 Katy Price Mr Nick Elliott

Canelo (IRE) 8 10 4 Alan King Mr John P. McManus

The Long Mile 7 10 4 J.P.Dempsey Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Give Me A Copper (IRE) 11 10 4 Paul Nicholls Done, Ferguson, Mason, Nicholls & Wood

Farclas (FR) 7 10 3 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud Jack Kennedy

Minella Times (IRE) 8 10 3 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Mr John P. McManus

Sub Lieutenant (IRE) 12 10 3 Georgie Howell Ms G. Howell

Hogan's Height (IRE) 10 10 3 Jamie Snowden Foxtrot Racing: Hogan's Height

Double Shuffle (IRE) 11 10 2 Tom George Crossed Fingers Partnership

Ami Desbois (FR) 11 10 2 Graeme McPherson The Reserved Judgment Partnership

Blaklion 12 10 2 Dan Skelton Darren & Annaley Yates

Some Neck (FR) 10 10 1 John McConnell Ireland Some Neck Partnership

Secret Reprieve (IRE) 7 10 1 Evan Williams Mr & Mrs William Rucker

Kauto Riko (FR) 10 9 13 Tom Gretton Mr and Mrs J.Dale and Partners

Fagan 11 9 13 Alex Hales Mr Ben Brackenbury

Deise Aba (IRE) 8 9 13 Philip Hobbs Mr Trevor Hemmings

Valtor (FR) 12 9 13 Nicky Henderson Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede

Golan Fortune (IRE) 9 9 13 Phil Middleton P Middleton, M Lowther

Run Wild Fred (IRE) 7 9 11 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

The Hollow Ginge (IRE) 8 9 11 Nigel Twiston-Davies The Ginge Army

Captain Drake (IRE) 8 9 11 Harry Fry Gary Stevens and Brian and Sandy Lambert

Another Venture (IRE) 10 9 11 Kim Bailey Racing For Maggie's Partnership

Crievehill (IRE) 9 9 11 Nigel Twiston-Davies Highclere T'Bred Racing- Crievehill

Flying Angel (IRE) 10 9 10 Nigel Twiston-Davies Mr R. J. Rexton

Prime Venture (IRE) 10 9 10 Evan Williams Mrs Janet Davies

Le Breuil (FR) 9 9 10 Ben Pauling Mrs Emma Palmer

Hold The Note (IRE) 7 9 9 Mick Channon Mr T. P. Radford

Plan of Attack (IRE) 8 9 9 Henry de Bromhead Ireland Mr A. Halsall

Roaring Bull (IRE) 8 9 9 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Dounikos (FR) 10 9 9 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Musical Slave (IRE) 8 9 8 Philip Hobbs Mr John P. McManus

Soupy Soups (IRE) 10 9 8 Neil Mulholland Equi ex Incertis Partners

Beau Bay (FR) 10 9 7 Mr Peter Green & Dr RDP Newland

Shantou Flyer (IRE) 11 9 7 Paul Nicholls David Maxwell Racing Limited

Hear No Evil (IRE) 9 9 7 Noel C. Kelly Northern Ireland Mr Patrick Joseph McCartan

Monbeg Notorious (IRE) 10 9 6 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Aforementioned (FR) 8 9 5 Mrs Denise Foster Ireland Gigginstown House Stud

Fingerontheswitch (IRE) 11 9 3 Neil Mulholland Cahill, Atwell & Crofts