A new free Signpost Advisory service has been established to assist farmers in making their farms more environmentally sustainable. A team of twenty Signpost advisors is in place across the Teagasc advisory regions and will work with farmers to develop and implement plans to reduce greenhouse gas emission from their farms.

This new programme to support climate and sustainability actions on farms is available to all farmers and is free of charge. The programme will provide dedicated advisory and training support to farmers to develop a plan that is appropriate to their farm.

Cost reduction

Advisory Programme development manager to lead the Teagasc Signpost Advisory Programme, Dr George Ramsbottom said; “Most of the actions that farmers are being asked to implement to reduce emissions will also reduce costs, improve animal performance and increase farm profitability. Adopting new and existing technologies and production systems will allow farmers to reduce greenhouse gas emissions while maintaining farm profitability. Participation in the programme will be for three years.”

Farmers are being urged to contact Teagasc and register for the new service. A baseline assessment of the current actions being implemented on the farm with be established.

Teagasc, in collaboration with ICBF and Bord Bia, has developed a new Sustainability Digital Platform called AgNav, which will be used by advisors to show each farmer their emissions number, and what impact taking specific actions will have on reducing that figure.

You can register for the programme at www.teagasc.ie/signpostsignup.

The Teagasc Signpost Advisors are listed below:

Region Advisor

Cork East Brendan Smiddy

Cork East Liz Duffy

Cork West Anthony Dineen

Cork West John Crowley

Clare/Galway Colm Kelly

Kerry / Limerick Rob Prendiville

Kerry / Limerick Tom O’Connor

Dublin/Kildare/Laois/Louth/Meath Meabh O’Hagan

Dublin/Kildare/Laois/Louth/Meath Margaret Farrell

Mayo Enda Geoghegan

Longford/Roscommon James Mimnagh

Donegal/Leitrim/Sligo Gary Fisher

Donegal/Leitrim/Sligo Cian Devaney

Tipperary Padraig Fogarty

Tipperary Leonard Betts

Waterford Seamus Kearney

Cavan/Monaghan/Offaly/Westmeath Catherine Kilmartin

Cavan/Monaghan/Offaly/Westmeath Eoghan Callaghan

Carlow/Wexford/Wicklow Eoin Woulfe

Carlow/Wexford/Wicklow Colm Doran