THE 2022 Dublin Horse Show gets underway tomorrow (Wednesday) at the RDS in Ballsbridge, with five days of top class equestrian action featuring over 1,600 horses from Ireland and abroad.

The first competition to take place in the main arena on Wednesday will be the six-year-old horse class, sponsored by Horse Sport Ireland, and this will be followed by three international competitions – The Speed Stakes, Minerva Stakes and The Sport Ireland Classic.

Thursday’s action includes Young Event horse classes for four and five-year-olds sponsored by Horse Sport Ireland, the Speed Derby and The Anglesea Stakes.

Friday at the Dublin Horse Show is of course Aga Khan day, with the Irish show jumping team, led by Michael Blake, looking to win the Longines FEI Nations Cup of Ireland for the first time since 2015.

Blake has selected an Aga Khan squad that includes Meath’s Cian O’Connor, Down’s Conor Swail, Cork’s Shane Sweetnam, Tipperary’s Max Wachman and Kilkenny’s Jack Ryan who replaces Bertram Allen after the Wexford rider’s brilliant clear round with Pacino Amiro (ISH) helped Ireland to gain Olympic qualification last weekend at the ECCO FEI World Championships in Herning, Denmark.

The full Irish squad for the Longines FEI Nations Cup of Ireland for the Aga Khan Trophy is: (alphabetical order)

Cian O’Connor with Kilkenny (ISH) – Owned by Susan Magnier

Jack Ryan with BBS McGregor (ISH) – Owned by Marguerite Ryan

Conor Swail with Count Me In – Owned by Sandy Lupton & Mannon Farm

Shane Sweetnam with James Kann Cruz (ISH) – Owned by Gizmo Partners LLC

Max Wachman with Berlux Z – Owned by Coolmore Showjumping

Michael Blake will name his final four horses and riders for the Aga Khan following the draw for the order of jumping on Thursday.

Five teams, (France, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland) will compete for Nations Cup points in Dublin, while USA and Brazil will also field teams in Dublin but will not be eligible for points.

Saturday’s feature will be the Land Rover Puissance as riders tackle the big red wall, while Sunday’s finale will be the Longines Grand Prix of Ireland.


Kilkenny (ISH) – 2012 gelding by Cardento (HOLST) out of MHS Pembrook Lady (ISH) by Guidam (SF) Breeder Sinead Brennan, Co Kilkenny. Owner Susan Magnier. Rider Cian O’Connor.

BBS McGregor (ISH) G by Cardento (HOLST) out of Random Chance (ISH) by Mark Twain (TB) bred and owned by Marguerite Ryan ridden by Jack Ryan.

James Kann Cruz (ISH) by Kannan out of CSF Telly Cruz by Cruising bred by Patrick Connolly owned by Gizmo partners LLC. Ridden by Shane Sweetnam.

The Irish show jumping team is sponsored by The Underwriting Exchange.

Charles Ancona – Official athlete clothing supplier to HSI’s Senior Olympic programmes.