THE second leg of the Secondary Schools jumping league got under way on a very chilly autumn Sunday morning on the October 16th at Killossery Lodge Stud with the novice individual class running first.

It was the Kings Hospital representative Juliette Heather who crossed the finish line in 38.09 to take home the winning rug on this occasion. Emma Smyth, the previous winner, had to settle for third slot this time around, while Poppy O’Dwyer from Dunshaughlin Community College with Puzzle was in the line up again but had to settle for fourth place.

Lily O’Sullivan made a return to Killossery to take second place for Scoil Dara crossing the line in 38.23, Ava Moran from St Marys took fifth spot and the final place went to O’Carolan College student Zara Cogan.

The secondary school team competition had 13 teams jumping for the prizes. The David Byrne track caused a few problems but three teams managed to finish on zero faults. This initiated a jump-off which saw The Institute of Education take home the winners rugs when last to jump, with both Samantha Bretzer and Siobhan Flynn jumping clear and fast. Loreto Balbriggan 1 finished second with clears from Sarah McNally and Ruth Barrett. Ashbourne Community School took third spot, ahead of Loreto Balbriggan 2 in fourth place with four faults, O’Carolan College in fifth and Eureka Secondary School in sixth.

Win for Hartford

In the 90/95cm Championship it was Ailbhe Hartford and Rodger who crossed the finish line fastest in 36.49. Saoirse Kiernan from Ashbourne Community School slotted into second with a time of 37.67 while Dara O’Sullivan and Dale, who set an early lead when clear in 38.33, had to be happy with third place.

Dundalk Grammar student Robyn Murray rode Drummin Diamond Lad in to fourth, ahead of Castleknock’s Siobhan Flynn in fifth with Esano and Aoife Flynn, representing Pipers Hill College Naas, took sixth.

The Breakaway Campers primary school’s novice individuals is perfect for those starting off in the interschools. There were 11 competitors who divided the medals with representatives from a wide variety of schools. St Mary’s Garristown had Caoimhe Ennis riding Briscoe; Scoil Oilibhéir Naofa had four representatives Ruby O’Hare riding Bailey, Sadie Connolly riding Farmleigh Boy, Maisie Connolly with Maisymae and Cara O’Connor riding My Perfect Puzzle.

Lismullen School was represented by James Cottin riding Dernattin Grey Mist, Jane Reynolds riding Miss Ruby and twin sister Rose Reynolds riding Sparky. From St Oliver Plunkett Malahide was Georgia Wade with Pocket Rocket, Millie Dalton rode Archer for Ballinabranna NS and Polly Geraghty represented St Patrick’s NS Trim aboard Popular BiBi.

The Breakaway Campers Open individual had 49 starters, all hoping for the holiday in the camper van. The winner was Odran King from St Marys who rode Rooney over the finish line in a time of 22.49. Local rider Alice Hartford took second place with Rodger for the second week in-a-row.

Louisa Dalton from Ballinabranna NS had two rides in the class and rode both in to the prizes, finishing third with Archer and fourth with Jubilee. Joseph Baker, coming from the Arkle dynasty, showed some speed to finish fifth, ahead of Nina Smith from Rathmore School in sixth.


The Breakaway Campers Primary team competition had seven teams through to the jump-off. First in for Scoil Oilibhéir Naofa was Chloe Dunne riding Ladywest, and Ben O’Connor rode Scarletts Fireball to finish on a very fast four faults which was good enough for eventual third place.

Lismullen/St Mary’s/St Patrick’s Lauren Reynolds and Isabel Westphal both jumped clear but were not quite fast enough for the winners rugs, and had to settle for second place.

St Mary’s Garristown had the Dempsey brother/sister combination and they both whizzed around in a very fast combined score of 70.56 to take the winning spot this week.