Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with The Irish Field? Register now to read 5 Field+ articles for FREE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading 5 free Field+ articles.
Nine Irish entries for Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury
Register now to read five Field + articles
for free per month.
Only takes a second!
Already registered with The Irish Field? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
Nine Irish entries for Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury
on 29 October 2014
Total of 58 horses entered is five higher than last year and biggest number since 2010

Ireland hasn’t won the Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury since 1980, but there are nine Irish-trained entries for this year's running which takes place on Saturday, November 29th.

The Irish entry is headed by the Mouse Morris-trained triple Grade 1 winner First Lieutenant, second to Bobs Worth in the 2012 Hennessy.

Willie Mullins suffered Hennessy heartbreak in 2002 after his Be My Royal was first past the post, but subsequently disqualified. This year, Ireland’s champion trainer has entered the Susannah Ricci-owned trio of Champagne Fever, Ballycasey and Djakadam, along with Grade 2-scorer The Paparrazi Kid.

Other notable contenders from Ireland include Gordon Elliott’s Don Cossack, Mullaghanoe River from the Noel Meade yard, and the Dessie Hughes-trained Lyreen Legend.

The total of 58 entries is up from 53 last year and is the highest figures since 2010.

Nicky Henderson has taken the £175,000 showpiece three times in his career, including the latest two renewals. The handler’s 2013 hero Triolo D’Alene could bid to become the first back-to-back winner since the great Arkle in 1965.

Henderson’s other representative is Hadrian’s Approach, who unseated Nico de Boinville at the fifth fence in the race last year.

Paul Nicholls is another three-time winner of the Hennessy as a trainer and is responsible for seven of the possible runners. Rocky Creek, runner-up in 2013, Unioniste and Just a Par look the pick of his septet.

Alan King saddled the well-fancied Invictus to finish 11th last season and has a host of smart horses engaged including Medermit, the classy Smad Place and Walkon. Midnight Prayer and Pantxoa are his other pair.

The Romford Pele, winner of his last three races, could line up for Rebecca Curtis, and the prolific Fingal Bay and dual-Newbury victor Roalco de Farges, both trained by Philip Hobbs, are other high-profile entries.


Horse Age Owner Trainer

First Lieutenant (IRE) 9 Gigginstown House Stud M. F. Morris

Harry Topper (GB) 7 Mr A. N. Solomons Kim Bailey

Champagne Fever (IRE) 7 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins

Lyreen Legend (IRE) 7 Lyreen Syndicate D. T. Hughes

Triolo d'Alene (FR) 7 Mr & Mrs Sandy Orr Nicky Henderson

Houblon des Obeaux (FR) 7 Mrs Julian Blackwell Venetia Williams

Rocky Creek (IRE) 8 The Johnson & Stewart Families Paul Nicholls

Medermit (FR) 10 The Dunkley & Reilly Partnership Alan King

Ballycasey (IRE) 7 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins

Katenko (FR) 8 Mr A. Brooks Venetia Williams

Smad Place (FR) 7 Mrs Peter Andrews Alan King

Ballynagour (IRE) 8 Mr Allan Stennett David Pipe

Fingal Bay (IRE) 8 Mrs R. J. Skan Philip Hobbs

Bury Parade (IRE) 8 HighclereThoroughbredRacing- Bury Parade Paul Nicholls

Hadrian's Approach (IRE) 7 Mr & Mrs R. Kelvin-Hughes Nicky Henderson

Vino Griego (FR) 9 Mr C. E. Stedman Gary Moore

Don Cossack (GER) 7 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott

Unioniste (FR) 6 Mr J. Hales Paul Nicholls

Walkon (FR) 9 McNeill Family Alan King

The Romford Pele (IRE) 7 Trembath & Outhart Rebecca Curtis

Black Thunder (FR) 7 Donlon, MacDonald, Fulton & Webb Paul Nicholls

Theatre Guide (IRE) 7 Mrs Jean R. Bishop Colin Tizzard

Le Bec (FR) 6 Tim Syder Emma Lavelle

Restless Harry (GB) 10 Mr R. G. Whitehead Robin Dickin

Easter Meteor (GB) 8 Mr & Mrs S. C. Willes David Pipe

Sam Winner (FR) 7 Mrs Angela Yeoman Paul Nicholls

Monbeg Dude (IRE) 9 Oydunow Michael Scudamore

Buywise (IRE) 7 Mr T. Hywel Jones Evan Williams

Annacotty (IRE) 6 Mrs Peter Prowting Martin Keighley

Wiesentraum (GER) 8 G. Pascoe & S. Brewer Lucy Wadham

Mendip Express (IRE) 8 The Mendip Syndicate Harry Fry

Lamb Or Cod (IRE) 7 Mr Terry Warner Philip Hobbs

Many Clouds (IRE) 7 Mr Trevor Hemmings Oliver Sherwood

Easter Day (FR) 6 B. Fulton, Broughton Thermal Insulation Paul Nicholls

Present View (GB) 6 Sir Chips Keswick Jamie Snowden

Just A Par (IRE) 7 Paul K. Barber & C. G. Roach Paul Nicholls

Djakadam (FR) 5 Mrs S. Ricci W. P. Mullins

Court In Motion (IRE) 9 Mr N. Mustoe Emma Lavelle

Roalco de Farges (FR) 9 The Brushmakers Philip Hobbs

Wychwoods Brook (GB) 8 Kevin & Anne Glastonbury Evan Williams

Midnight Prayer (GB) 9 The Legends Partnership Alan King

The Druids Nephew (IRE) 7 The Stonehenge Druids Neil Mulholland

Mountainous (IRE) 9 Walters Plant Hire & James & Jean Potter Richard Lee

Via Sundown (FR) 6 The Old Brokers Gary Moore

Knock A Hand (IRE) 9 Mr Alan Halsall Richard Lee

Pantxoa (FR) 7 Mrs June Watts Alan King

Mullaghanoe River (IRE) 6 Mrs Patricia Hunt Noel Meade

Victors Serenade (IRE) 9 Michael & Angela Bone Anthony Honeyball

Gevrey Chambertin (FR) 6 Roger Stanley & Yvonne Reynolds III David Pipe

Merry King (IRE) 7 Mr F. Gillespie Jonjo O'Neill

Edmund Kean (IRE) 7 Walters Plant Hire & James & Jean Potter Peter Bowen

Gallant Oscar (IRE) 8 Mr G. Kelly A. J. Martin

What A Warrior (IRE) 7 Mr & Mrs Gordon Pink Dan Skelton

Handy Andy (IRE) 8 Brocade Racing Colin Tizzard

Le Reve (IRE) 6 Mr P. H. Betts Lucy Wadham

Tour des Champs (FR) 7 Mr H. R. Mould Nigel Twiston-Davies

Saroque (IRE) 7 Mr A. Brooks Venetia Williams

The Paparrazi Kid (IRE) 7 Byerley Thoroughbred Racing W. P. Mullins

Related tags
Get full unlimited access to our content and archive.
Subscribe to The Irish Field
Unlimited access to The Irish Field via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in