CAVAN Equestrian Centre played host to the popular Home Pony International Show with great competition enjoyed over the course of the July show. This Home Pony International is a valuable asset for Ireland’s upcoming riders, giving them great ring experience.

Claiming victory in the 128cm-85cm U10 Grand Prix was Connaught rider Ella Cash (King of Rock & Roll). Winner 128cm-1.05m Grand Prix was Charlie Flynn and Penchwintan Glynle. The 138cm-1.15m Grand Prix saw 30 combinations go to post and from those four double clears were delivered. Taking the win was James Brown and Ruby Brown.

The 148cm 1.25m Grand Prix attracted the largest entry with 60 combinations going to post. Leading the victory lap was Ulster rider Ben Walsh and Derryvan Belle.

In the team classes, the Ulster team of Beth Thompson, Cara McFadden, Junny Dunlop and Alexandra Kiernan emerged as the 148cm team winners. Claiming the 138cm 1.15m was the Leinster team of Lauren Adams, James Derwin, Ruben Foley and Jack Galway. The Munster team of Charlie Flynn, Jack Dore, Daisy O’Dea and Harry Callaghan took the 128cm 1.05m team event.

The all-girl team of Serena Brown, Chloe Clarke, Caitie McEvoy and Elsie Tunney claimed the 128cm U10 team event under the guidance of chef d’equipe Aldyth Roulston. The English team of Lara Bowman, Connie Mensley, Abigail Wicks and Sophie Wicks emerged as the winners in the 148cm Debut Team event.

The team of Lauren Adams, James Derwin, Ruben Foley and Jack Galway, winners of the 138cm teams competition at Cavan Home Pony International \ Laurence Dunne

Necarne Finals

Castle Irvine Necarne, Co Fermanagh was the setting for the finale of the 2022 Hive and ESI Pony Premier Series, the Starfinder (6/7yo) and The Bob Sweeney Future Champions Series.

Winner of the Starfinder was Daisy McNamara with MVS Carvelle. Second place went to long time leader, James Brennan and Coolcronan Liberty with Ciara O’Connor and Gleann Princess taking third.

Thirty three riders mastered John Doyle’s first round track in the 128cm U10 Premier, leading to another blisteringly fast decider. Ella Cash (King of Rock and Roll) denied Colm Widger (Barryroe Prince William) while Edward Walsh Jnr (Zulus Dream) picked up third. These results decided the league, which saw Ella Cash as Leading Rider, Edward Walsh Jnr in second and Lucy Kent in third.

Cliodhna McEvoy and Tynnan Tuttle Pip won the 128cm Premier with Robbie Sheehan and Hes A Touch of Magic in second place, which was good enough to give him the overall Leading Rider title.

The 138 Premier was claimed by James Derwin with Ruby Brown, while Lauren Adams and Riot Del Pegulil took second which saw her awarded the overall Leading Rider in the 138cm section.

James Derwin added to his growing list of accolades by taking the final win and with it the overall Leading Rider title with Rincoola Babog. Claiming the COH class and overall Leading Rider title was Isobel Sheehan with Robyn McOwan taking second.

The winners of the Bob Sweeney Future Champions were Ronan Gilvarry in the 138 1.05 with Melview More Clover, Abbie Oakey with Annaghmore Boomahontas in the 148 1.15, Priya Mai Cosgrave and Paulank Redbreast in the 128 U10 and Eunan Kelly with Tynwydd Alun in the 128 95cm. The winner of the Starfinder was Martha McNamara’s MVS Carvelle (7yo), ridden by Daisy McNamara. The leading six-year-old mount on the day was Jill Twomey’s Coolcronan Liberty, ridden by James Brennan.

Castle Irvine also played host to the All Ireland Interprovincial Finals where Ulster tried hard to defend their title. It was not to be as Robert Fagan’s Leinster team proved hard to beat, grasping the title from the hands of Ulster by 20 points. There were 935 points up for grabs which were won as follows: Leinster 328, Ulster 308, Munster 203, Connaught 96.