Inisherin is one of 13 confirmations for Saturday’s My Pension Expert July Cup at Newmarket.

Kevin Ryan’s three-year-old has excelled since returning to sprinting, having run with credit over a mile in the 2000 Guineas.

He first lowered the colours of the previously unbeaten Vandeek in the Sandy Lane at Haydock before a similarly easy victory in the Commonwealth Cup at Royal Ascot.

Vandeek is in line to take him on again, with Simon and Ed Crisford’s charge set to return after being forced to miss Ascot due a minor setback.

Another three-year-old in the mix is Clive Cox’s Jasour, a fine third behind Inisherin in the Commonwealth Cup, with Aidan O’Brien’s Military and River Tiber also representing the Classic crop.

Charlie Hills has left in both dual Royal Ascot winner Khaadem and Mitbaahy, both owned by Fitri Hay.

Retaining his crown

Khaadem won the Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Stakes for the second year in succession last month, a race in which his stablemate Mitbaahy finished seventh.

Hills said: “We’ll see what the weather does through the week. Khaadem wants quick ground definitely, whereas the other fellow wouldn’t mind a bit of give in the ground.

“I think there’s probably a good chance of getting good ground, so hopefully both horses will run.”

Ralph Beckett’s Kinross, third in the race to Shaquille 12 months ago, may have another crack while Jane Chapple-Hyam’s Mill Stream, third to Khaadem at Ascot, will aim to win a first Group 1.

Tim Easterby’s Art Power and Ed Bethell’s Regional add strength to the northern challenge, while Karl Burke’s Swingalong and the Charlie Fellowes-trained Vadream complete the list.

1 Art Power (IRE) 7 9 8 King Power Racing Co Ltd Tim Easterby

2 Inisherin 3 9 2 Sheikh Mohammed Obaid Al Maktoum Kevin Ryan Tom Eaves

3 Jasour 3 9 2 AlMohamediya Racing Clive Cox Jim Crowley

4 Khaadem (IRE) 8 9 8 Mrs Fitri Hay Charles Hills Billy Loughnane

5 Kinross 7 9 8 Mr Marc Chan Ralph Beckett Rossa Ryan

6 Military 3 9 2 Westerberg/Magnier/Tabor/Smith/Brant Aidan O'Brien Ireland

7 Mill Stream (IRE) 4 9 8 Mr P. W. Harris Jane Chapple-Hyam

8 Mitbaahy (IRE) 5 9 8 Mrs Fitri Hay Charles Hills

9 Regional 6 9 8 Future Champions Racing Regional Edward Bethell Callum Rodriguez

10 River Tiber (IRE) 3 9 2 Tabor/Smith/Magnier/Westerberg/Brant Aidan O'Brien Ireland

11 Swingalong (IRE) 4 9 5 Sheikh Juma Dalmook Al Maktoum K. R. Burke Clifford Lee

12 Vadream 6 9 5 Mr D. R. J. King Charlie Fellowes Kieran Shoemark

13 Vandeek 3 9 2 KHK Racing Simon & Ed Crisford James Doyle

13 confirmations

2 Irish-trained