Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with The Irish Field? Register now to read 5 Field+ articles for FREE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading 5 free Field+ articles.
Racing honours Dr Adrian McGoldrick
Register now to read five Field + articles
for free per month.
Only takes a second!
Already registered with The Irish Field? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
Racing honours Dr Adrian McGoldrick
on 05 December 2018
Soon-to-retire chief medical officer gets standing ovation at the Horse Racing Ireland Awards

DR Adrian McGoldrick's dedication to improving jockey safety was recognised at the Horse Racing Ireland Awards in Dublin on Wednesday night.

McGoldrick will retire this month after 11 years as Chief Medical Officer for the Irish Horseracing Regulatory Authority.

Speaking after receiving the Contribution to the Industry Award from the Minister for Agriculture, Michael Creed, McGoldrick said: "I've had an amazing team behind me at the Turf Club and IHRB. Horse Racing Ireland, the Order of Malta and the jockeys themselves have also been a great support."

He gave a vote of confidence to his successor, Dr Jennifer Pugh, and confirmed that he will remain involved as a consultant when required.

Alpha Centauri was crowned Horse of the Year.

The Jessica Harrington-trained filly landed four Group 1s in a stellar season which was unfortunately cut short by an injury sustained in the Matron Stakes in September.

There were special awards for Nina Carberry and Katie Walsh, who both retired after winners at the Punchestown Festival. They were honoured with the inaugural Irish Racing Hero Award.

On what was a big night for lady riders Rachael Blackmore, currently the leading National Hunt rider this season, received the National Hunt Achievement Award.

Willie Mullins won the overall National Hunt gong. A total of 212 winners in a battle with Gordon Elliott peaked with 18 winners at Punchestown while he also enjoyed seven winners at the Cheltenham Festival.

Donnacha O’Brien won the Flat Award while Patrick Prendergast won the Flat Achievement Award thanks to the exploits of Skitter Scatter.

Amateur riders Barry O’Neill and Derek O’Connor won the point-to-point and ride of the year awards respectively.


Related tags
Get full unlimited access to our content and archive.
Subscribe to The Irish Field
Unlimited access to The Irish Field via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in