OVER 430 people flocked to Cavan Equestrian Centre this week to attend Horse Sport Ireland’s biggest ever Coaching and Breeding Conference. The day was a sell-out and attendees were treated to some really noteworthy sessions from some of the equestrian industry’s top professionals.

The top panel of speakers included Rob Ehrens, chef d'equipe to the Dutch show jumping team; top Australian international event rider Andrew Hoy; Russell Guire of Centaur Biomechanics and Wicklow veterinary surgeon Larry Dunne.

Newly qualified HSI Level 1 Apprentice coaches and HSI Level 3 Dressage, Eventing and Show Jumping coaches were presented with their certificates and Liam Moggan, formerly of Sport Ireland Coaching, was presented with the ‘Outstanding Contribution to Coaching’ award.

Speaking about the conference, HSI Director of Breeding and Programmes Alison Corbally said: “We wanted to have a good mixture of scientific advancement and practical applications at this conference to ensure that the event was applicable to coaches, breeders, young horse producers and all involved in the industry. It was wonderful to have such enthusiastic support of the world class panel who needed very little encouragement to present at the event! To have a full house in attendance was inspiring and demonstrates the genuine thirst for quality, relevant information within the equestrian community in Ireland.”

The 2017 Coach of the Year award was presented in two categories. Development Coach of the Year went to Jane Kinsella from Co. Meath. Performance Coach of the Year went to the European Gold Medal winning Pony Show Jumping Chef d’Equipe, Gary Marshall.

Speaking following his win Gary Marshall said: “I am honoured to receive the prestige award of HSI Performance Coach of the Year, alongside great coaches that have won it in the past. I would like to congratulate the riders on their success this year and to thank the parents, trainers, sponsors, grooms, vets and everyone that made the success possible”

HSI Level 1 Apprentice Coaches 2017

• Abrar Jeraq

• Aiden Fogarty

• Ailsa Sexton

• Aine Ni Chonaill

• Alanna Yeats

• Andrew Lyons

• Annie Molloy

• Arlene Doris

• Barbara Allen

• Christine McBride

• Ciaran McCormick

• Daniela O’Toole

• Dara Mellerick

• David Corcoran

• Deirdre Crowdle Ryan

• Elizabeth Fleming

• Ellen Kavanagh

• Emma McCauley

• Esther O’Kane

• Fiona Cooper

• Fiona Murphy

• Hannah Marie Smiddy

• Hannah McCrory

• Heather Saunders

• Hyunk-Seok Kim

• Irene Lawler

• Jacqueline Murphy

• James Purcell

• Jenny Lynch

• Jenny Pim

• Julie-Claire Rogers

• Kate Nelson

• Linda Monaghan

• Lydia Dawson

• Michelle Mulligan

• Nicky Mummery

• Nicola Dunne

• Nicola Ennis

• Olivia Downes

• Orla Cassidy

• Paula Sutton

• Ruth Masterson

• Sarah Dunne

• Comdt Sharon Crean

• Shelley Allen

• Siobhan Schous

• Stephanie Moore

• Vladimir Tkatchivskii

• Wendy Rowland

• Yvette Truesdale

HSI Level 3 Dressage Coaches 2017

• Anne Marie Dunphy

• Gerald Bloomer

• Ruth Hayes

HSI Level 3 Eventing Coaches 2017

• Becky Cullen

• Joanne Jarden

• Louise Bloomer

• Gerald Bloomer

• Louise Lyons

• Melanie Wrynn

HSI Level 3 Show Jumping Coaches 2017

• Barry O’Connor

• Johnny O’Connell