SOME 270 people turned out in force for the EGM of the Ulster Region of Showjumping Ireland where a new committee was elected.

SJI chairman Christy Murphy and Ronan Corrigan, chairman of the SJI Management and Finance Committee, attended the EGM, along with two staff from SJI head office to assist with the EGM on the evening.

The new committee of Ulster Region is Gerry McCloskey (president), Derek Reid (chairman), Des McFadden (vice chairman), Neal Doherty (treasurer) and Nicola Tang (secretary).

SJI head office confirmed that the Ulster Region’s Ray Buchanan, Eamonn Rice, Allison Mercer and Janet Curry as outgoing following the EGM.

Chairman of Showjumping Ireland, Christy Murphy, commented: “There is a new committee in place and each brings their own strengths to the table. We look forward to working with them diligently for the good of show jumping. It was great to see so many attend and exercise their democratic vote.”