Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with The Irish Field? Register now to read 5 Field+ articles for FREE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading 5 free Field+ articles.
Four Irish win Flying Start spots
Register now to read five Field + articles
for free per month.
Only takes a second!
Already registered with The Irish Field? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
Four Irish win Flying Start spots
on 22 May 2020
The names of the next batch of Godolphin Flying Start trainees have been revealed

FOUR Irish people are among the 12 trainees who will start the next Godolphin Flying Start programme later this summer.

The two-year Thoroughbred Industry Management and Leadership Programme is sponsored by Sheikh Mohammed and facilitates trainees to learn and experience management operations and leadership in the global thoroughbred industry with phases in Ireland, the UK, the USA, Australia and Dubai.

The course is accredited by University College Dublin Michael Smurfit Business School as a Graduate Certificate in Management. Over half of Godolphin Flying Start graduates have gone on to become managers, CEOs or business founders and they are based across five continents, working in media, racing, breeding, bloodstock, sales, consultancy, veterinary and marketing.

The next batch of trainees is composed of six men and six women from Australia, France, Ireland, the UK and the USA.

Among the four Irish trainees is David Skelly, who won The Irish Field Blue Hen writing competition last year at the Irish National Stud. Donncha McCarthy, from Kerry, is also a graduate of the Irish National Stud thoroughbred breeding programme. Brigitte Murphy from Limerick holds a degree in equine science and is completing a masters in business management. Tom Murphy from Kildare is the fourth Irish acceptor.

The full list of new trainees are George Broughton (UK), Samantha Bussanich (USA), Devon Dougherty (USA), Solène Hudbert (France), Thomas Lyon-Smith (UK), Donncha McCarthy (Ireland), Erin McLaughlin (USA), Marine Moussa (France), Brigitte Murphy (Ireland), Tom Murphy (Ireland), Angus Robertson (Australia) and David Skelly (Ireland).

Related tags
Get full unlimited access to our content and archive.
Subscribe to The Irish Field
Unlimited access to The Irish Field via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in