Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with The Irish Field? Register now to read 5 Field+ articles for FREE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading 5 free Field+ articles.
DUBLIN HORSE SHOW: Sweetnam wins Stablelab Stakes on a day of Irish domination
Register now to read five Field + articles
for free per month.
Only takes a second!
Already registered with The Irish Field? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
DUBLIN HORSE SHOW: Sweetnam wins Stablelab Stakes on a day of Irish domination
on 09 August 2018
Shane Sweetnam and Shane Breen were five-star winners on day two at the Stena Line Dublin Horse Show

IRISH riders have made it five wins out of five in the international classes at the Stena Line Dublin Horse Show, with Cork’s Shane Sweetnam and Indra Van De Oude Heihoef winning the Stablelab Stakes on day two at the RDS in Ballsbridge.

Eleven combinations made it through to the jump-off, and at the finish the leaderboard was once again dominated by the Irish. Sweetnam took the winners prize of €16,500 after clocking the fastest clear of 39.21 seconds with the 10-year-old Indra Van De Oude Heihoef, who is owned by The Blue Buckle Group. Co Louth’s Mark McAuley finished second with Jasco VD Bisschop (39.80), while Mayo’s Cameron Hanley took third place with Eis Isaura (39.95).

In the morning’s Speed Derby by Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge, Tipperary’s Shane Breen claimed the honours with the Team Z7-owned Can Ya Makan. They crossed the line clear in 80.85 seconds to take the top prize of just over €8,000, while Co Down’s Dermott Lennon finished as runner-up with Vampire (82.44). Britain’s Holly Smith took third place with The Irish Sport Horse Quality Old Joker.

Earlier today the draw was made for tomorrow’s Longines FEI Nations Cup of Ireland for the Aga Khan trophy, with the home team from Ireland getting a favourable draw as last to jump of the eight teams, while Italy will be the first team into the arena.

The Irish Aga Khan team, sponsored by Devenish and The Underwriting Exchange, will line out is as follows:

Cork’s Shane Sweetnam with Main Road – owned by Sweet Oak Farm and Seabrook LLC

Louth’s Mark McAuley with Utchan De Belheme – owned by Charlotte McAuley

Limerick’s Paul O’Shea with Skara Glen’s Machu Picchu – owned by Skara Glen Stables, Whipstick Farm, P. Hurter & P. Agnew

Mayo’s Cameron Hanley with Quirex – owned by Patrick Mielnik

The Longines FEI Nations Cup of Ireland for the Aga Khan trophy starts at 3pm, with live coverage starting from 1.45pm on RTE 1 television.

Related tags
Get full unlimited access to our content and archive.
Subscribe to The Irish Field
Unlimited access to The Irish Field via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in