Sign in to your account
Forgot / Reset Password? Click here
Not registered with The Irish Field? Register now to read 5 Field+ articles for FREE
Just one final step...
You must confirm your email address by clicking on the link we’ve sent to your email address.
You are only one short step away from reading 5 free Field+ articles.
Ballydoyle trio stand ground in Gimcrack
Register now to read five Field + articles
for free per month.
Only takes a second!
Already registered with The Irish Field? Sign in
By registering an account you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
Farming Classifieds
Ballydoyle trio stand ground in Gimcrack
on 21 August 2017
Aidan O'Brien is responsible for Declarationofpeace, Seahenge and US Navy Flag

Aidan O'Brien has three possibles left in contention for the Al Basti Equiworld Gimcrack Stakes at York on Saturday.

The Ballydoyle handler last won the race back in 2001 with Rock Of Gibraltar, and is responsible this time for Declarationofpeace, Seahenge and US Navy Flag.

Connections of Cardsharp are hoping the decision to sidestep the Prix Morny will pay dividends on the Knavesmire.

The Mark Johnston-trained two-year-old will have to carry a 3lb penalty for his July Stakes victory when he lines up in the six-furlong Group Two, having finished third under the same penalty in the Richmond Stakes at Goodwood.

Charlie Johnston, assistant trainer to his father, said: "He was under strong consideration for the Group 1 Prix Morny this weekend but we have decided to go to York instead."

Nebo, from the yard of Charlie Hills, could bid to atone for near-misses in both the Superlative and Richmond Stakes, while his Goodwood conqueror Barraquero has been left in by trainer Brian Meehan.

Invincible Army, from the yard of James Tate, is another looking to go one better than last time out after finishing second in the Molecomb Stakes.

Both Kevin Ryan and James Given could be double-handed, with the former represented by Savalas and Stormbringer, and the latter by Cool Spirit and G Eye Joe.

Others of note among the 21 contenders include De Bruyne Horse (Richard Hannon), Enjazaat (Owen Burrows), Frozen Angel (Tom Dascombe) and Headway (William Haggas).

Related tags
Get full unlimited access to our content and archive.
Subscribe to The Irish Field
Unlimited access to The Irish Field via your computer, mobile device, tablet or newspaper delivered to your door.
Already a subscriber? Sign in